Rich0's Gentoo Blog

MythTV 0.26 In Portage

with 7 comments

Well, all of MythTV 0.26 is now in portage, masked for testing for a few days.

If anyone is interested now is a good time to give it a try and report any issues you find. If all is quiet the masks will come off and we’ll be up-to-date (including all patches up to a few days ago).

Thanks to all who have contributed to the 0.26 bug. I can also happily report that I’m running Gentoo on my mythtv front-end, which should help me with maintaining things. MiniMyth is a great distro, but it has made it difficult to keep the front- and back-ends in sync.

Written by rich0

January 23, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Posted in foss, gentoo, mythtv

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks a lot, Rich!

    Pete

    January 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm

  2. Thank you!

    Thomas

    January 24, 2013 at 1:29 am

  3. Thanks!

    Scott

    January 24, 2013 at 5:07 am

  4. Compiles and runs on ~x86 and ~amd64 for me. I use it daily. I look forward to experiencing smooth daylight savings time changes. They were a disaster in the past. Between mythtv and the broadcaster’s EIT crashes the change was never smooth. Thank you.

    Mac Michaels

    February 4, 2013 at 2:22 pm

  5. No zoneminder?

    Jason

    April 2, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    • Hmm, hadn’t noticed that.

      If you get to it first feel free to submit a patch. If not I’ll see if I can add it to the next patch set release. Since I’m not using zoneminder I can’t personally test much more than that it compiles and appears to install, but I’m happy to coordinate testing with volunteers.

      rich0

      April 2, 2013 at 10:34 pm

      • Turned out to be pretty trivial – I added support to mythplugins. However, you’ll need to still install zoneminder itself, which is not in portage. I figured it still made sense to support it since zoneminder just needs to be installed anywhere on the network anyway – for all we know your server is running some other distro and it doesn’t complicate anything on the Gentoo side).

        rich0

        April 3, 2013 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

